h1

The Late Rabbit

November 10, 2009

When Alice first sees the White Rabbit in Chapter 1, he says, “Oh dear! Oh dear! I shall be too late!” Then later in Chapter 4, the rabbit says, “The Duchess! The Duchess! Oh my dear paws! Oh my fur and whiskers! She’ll get me executed as sure as ferrets are ferrets!”

During Mr. Long’s quiz, he mentioned that if the Rabbit were late then he would be dead. As I thought about this statement, I realized, “It is a pun!” If the Rabbit is late then he shall become the “late” White Rabbit, as in the deceased White Rabbit. I am not sure if this is one of Lewis Carroll’s many word plays, but I thought it was worth sharing.

4 comments

  1. I love it! It is one of those things that you register in the back of your mind because you recognize how the two words could be used, but don’t really notice until someone points it out. That’s hillarious, but I agree with Hersh; that he hadn’t known he made a pun. It is possible that he intended to write it, but more than likely not.


  2. I’m actually not surprised that Carroll would put something like this in the book. Later in the story you see more and more puns like in Chapter 9. It is always cool to find little quirks and fun thingss like this. For example the lessons are called “lessons” because they lessen everyday. Some are more subtle such as this one. Just something fun. 🙂


  3. Woahh!!! I had never even thought about that. It seems as thought these authors have many ideas and puns and inside jokes. However, it seems very easy that Carroll did not even think about this and maybe it just happened. Similarily, for our Lord of the Flies project right now, I believe that if I provided the class with a copy of it, they would be able to draw many conclusions and ideas that I had absolutely no idea about. Anyway, good thought.


  4. Hahah Thank you for sharing! I didn’t catch that one.



Leave a Reply

